Notes on “Autism – A New Hope”

image

I am delighted, that I had the library buy this book in for me, instead of me shelling out the money. As most of the self-help books I have read, it really isn’t helpful at all. If anything, it just tells me what I already knew! Below, I will share the notes I took, and share my thoughts about the information given.

On page 4, in the introduction she says: “Today, 1% of all children in Sweden, have a diagnosis in the autism spectra and most of these are boys. Autism is not ONE disease but a collective name for a lot of different symptoms, that can be different for different children.” She continues:

“There is a regrettable situation in Sweden for parents of children with Autism/Aspberger’s/ADHD and so on. We are very good at setting a diagnosis but there is very little to offer as far as treatment goes, except traditional medicines. Parents of children with Autism are forced to become their own experts, since there is so little help to get, in order to improve the condition of the child. This, even though the development in the rest of the world is going forward with lots of different treatments.”

On page 6 she says:  “I wish there would be a greater acceptance in society, for the fact that all human beings are different and there is a meaningful place for everyone to fill. We need to learn how to adapt the system around the person, and not like today, see the person as a problem, because he or she doesn’t fit in to the system.”

On p. 20-21 she goes through symptoms of Autism. According to new research, Autism is caused by immune system problems and nerve inflammation, and not brain injury:

The only symptoms my son, “Gubby” has except the speech problem, she mentions, are

* The child can keep urine for an abnormally long time. Now “Gubby” has a faulty kidney which does not empty at all like it should, so is it strange that he doesn’t run to the loo as often as he should have? Johannes on the other hand, did not have kidney problems but refused to go on public loos! I must say that Johannes fits much better in to everything described than “Gubby” does. And has far more symptoms than “Gubby’s” four!

* Fear and anxiety. Hmmmm! He is afraid of a lot of things but maybe because he doesn’t yet make sense of everything.

* Pica – only eating a few kind of foods. ALL my children are finicky eaters, but “Kitty” fits in to the description of refusing to eat certain textures. To be honest, “Gubby” can be coaxed in to eating most things actually, if you just cut them up for him and sometimes you need to add something like mustard, ketchup, lemon pepper…

Throughout the book there are these quotes and the cutest one must be: “If a person you are talking to, doesn’t seem to listen, be patient. It could be that he is just having a little bit of fluff in his ear” – Winnie the Pooh (My husband has a lot of fluff in his ears then?!)

On page 23 she starts going on about diet but I am not sure what I think about theories which says that milk products contain morphine substances. That your child is on a high, after drinking milk. And that when a child has cravings for a certain food, it means that is what it is the most sensitive to. So if they crave bread, that is what they should absolutely not get to eat. I love bread, I crave bread, I don’t eat bread since it makes my stomach bloated, but even though I do not eat it, I do not feel healthier! So how does one explain that?’

As far as diet goes, if a parent feels she can spend 100% of her time planning meals containing basically nothing, since everything is dangerous, reading labels at the supermarket for hours, cooking food that noone wants to eat because it taste disgusting, watch her child so it does not eat anything on the mile long forbidden list, and has a fortune to spend on food, well good luck to her. But to cut out everything gluten, everything resembling gluten, everything with milk, soya, preservatives, carbohydrates. What is left? You can’t even let your child eat a carrot according to the author’s lists! No wonder she says that the child has to take supplements. Vitamins and Minerals, extra D-vitamin, probiotics, enzymes, Omega 3 and amino acids. These don’t come cheap and she suggests health food shops instead of pharmacies,  since the previous sell “cleaner” products. At the same time she says, that most of them contain gluten, milk protein and soya and that the labels do not say so, so in the end you are supposed to shop from a place called Alpha Plus. Have they sponsored the book, I wonder? She also tells you to buy tests at Scandlab.se, to find out all sorts of things about your child, but this place has been declared, is all bogus. Their tests are just a sham and cost thousands. The health authorities have among other things forbidden them to do thyroid tests!

The author is a homeopath and she says that in the rest of the world, it is a common thing, but in Sweden you are basically considered a quack and you are not allowed to treat children under the age of eight. Could it be that all the things sold will add up to a fortune and the one having to cough up the money, is the parent. And the “medicines” might not help a bit.

Under the chapter vaccine, she has let Alan Rees’ article on how dangerous vaccines are, be translated. He believes the vaccines given in childhood, caused his son’s Autism, and he hopes that all vaccination will stop. I guess, since the USA have been allowed to sell vaccines to China, 1,8 million Chinese children have been diagnosed with Autism, when there before were zero children with it. I am not sure if there really is a correlation? Could it not be, that the more open China becomes to western medicine and ideas, the more they will start testing their children to see why they do not fit in to the system? I think the number zero autistic children in China, before the vaccine, sounds very unlikely. Like Communist China would admit to having less than perfect citizens? But it does undoubtedly create thoughts in one’s mind, that what if…? Like all other parents who get a child diagnosed with Autism, I constantly sit and think about if I have caused this somehow. Tuesday, I came home from BUP with “Kitty” and “Boo”, and our nosey neighbour came up and talked to me, which she never does otherwise. She asked if T. was on holiday so I guess, it was to point out the fact, that if he was not home, why did I leave “Cookie” and “Gubby” home alone. Like D. and “Dollie” were not there to look after them? I told her where I had been and since she is so nosey, I thought she might as well be told that “Gubby” is Autistic, “Boo” is being tested and “Kitty” has ADHD. I did not mention that according to all symptom lists, Johannes is a classic case for Autism as well. She looked at me in horror and said “what a burden for all of you to carry”. You don’t say?! And why? According to this book, ADHD is part of the Autism spectra. So, four out of seven children have been afflicted. Can it be vaccines? Or is it genes? Since so many of my children have been afflicted, common sense says it must be something not related to vaccines, since the majority of children who are vaccinated, are just fine.

The people who pick up this book is already sitting in the mess though. They have vaccinated their children and so forth. When moving on to different treatments, she really does not really explain anything about them. Luckily, one of them is called Son-Rise and I have the book about that program which cured the author from Autism. His parents came up with it and it worked. So I guess, that is the next book to read. Sad that this one did not go in to it a little bit more though, more than saying that the parents become their child’s teachers and the home needs to be a place of learning. I think I have already understood that, A LONG TIME AGO!

After reading the book, I can only say this thing about it and Autism. Only rich people should be allowed to receive children with this “disease”, because to do all the things required to try to heal your child, you need mega resources. You really can not hold down a job, you must have all the time in the world, which means no other children and most of all, you need to live in Stockholm or Gothenburg, to have all the treatments available to you. Habilitation according to the book is hopeless and will only see Autism as a permanent condition, beyond improvement, and they will only offer objects to help with every day tasks. And habilitation is the only resource, which will be available to me. I can’t afford to cut out all the foods required, nor can I go to the cities up North so my children can get the behavioral therapy needed, to improve. As usual, it is only the rich, who can afford to get ill and as usual, your location in the country, will determine the help available.

 

Comments Off on Notes on “Autism – A New Hope”

Filed under What's Up

Comments are closed.