Make lemonade of life’s sour lemons

I have just been sitting preparing a Sunday school lesson for tomorrow. I hate doing it in the evening, when there might be something nice on TV for a change. And I should prepare during the week, instead of on Saturdays, but it is difficult to do that. Most days I just have to live in the here and now, not in the future.

Tomorrow’s lesson is about Josef and how he was sold by his ten older brothers, in to slavery in Egypt, because of envy, hatred, feeling less loved by their father and so forth. T. took “Boo” and “Gubby” with him yesterday, to change the winter tires in to summer ones, having the day off, since Thursday was a red day in the almanac. We call it “squeeze day” in this country. No point going to work, on a Friday, when Thursday has been a holiday! The schools were closed, as well as pre-school and T.’s place of work, and most other places of work. While they imagewere away, “Kitty” put on the film about Joseph, since he suddenly remembered that I mentioned last week, that this is what we will be talking about in Sunday school, tomorrow. Last week, we went through Jacob’s marriages, how Laban lied to him and how we should always keep what we promise and not make promises that we know, we can not keep. The children in my class, were more interested in what all the sons’ names meant. They thought it quite amusing and I must admit, the meaning of names fascinates me too, so I gladly went through that part in detail, and ran over time.

Tomorrow, we will talk about how Jacob prefered his beloved wife Rachel’s son, how he gave him a lovely coat, how nine of his older brothers wanted to kill him, while Reuben, the oldest, saved his life but could not prevent the sale of Joseph. The authors’ of the manual, wants this lesson to be about how we handle trials, disappointment and other negative things. Joseph of course being the example of how one should handle it all, but the children will not find that out, until next week, when we talk about his Egyptian experience. But to my horror, I remembered that “Kitty” was also asked to give a little talk, at the conclusion of the children’s part of church. Help! He needs more preparation time than this! He can’t put together a talk by himself. His dad always writes together something too complicated, that he can not even pronounce. So, I had to put something simple together, which I hope he can practically learn by heart, by tomorrow. If he ever comes inside from playing with the neighbour! It is not easy for a child with ADHD to do these things. He has no patience. He does not like when we point out that he has to read all the words, or noone will understand what he is talking about. The children in church are tired by that time of the day, doesn’t want to sit still, nor listen. Especially not to someone who reads his speech in a choppy manner and miss a word here and there.

I suspect none of the little ones will understand a thing. Maybe noone else either, but at least he gets the practice of speaking in front of others, which I have always hated with a vehemence! His little speech should go like this:

“Our life here on Earth, is full of trials. Today we have spoken about Josef, who was sold as a slave to Egypt, by his brothers, because they were jealous of him. And we have learned that if you receive a lemon, you can sit and complain over imagehow sour it tastes, or you can add sugar and water and make lemonade of it, which tastes good. When your little brother eats up your candy OR your teacher is constantly angry with your class OR you have a difficult time learning your homework, then the Lord wants you to make lemonade and not sit there and be angry, sad and say that the lemon tastes sour, like the brothers of Josef did!”

“May the force be with you, Kitty!”. The other children might not understand what you are trying to tell them, but I do. And I do realize that this is something I need to get better at. I have a difficult time with feeling happy about my trials. It is difficult for me to think about the loss of Serena Rose and make lemonade of it all. She should have been the sugar in my life and not a dead little girl in the cemetery! But, I am trying really hard, to look at all the wonderful aspects of my autistic son, my ADHD son, my un-diagnosed son, and my other children. Too be happy about the little things in life. But there is lots of room for improvement!!!

14 Comments

Filed under What's Up

14 responses to “Make lemonade of life’s sour lemons

  1. Thanks! Not quite a famous blogger, yet.

  2. I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good.

    I don’t know who you are but certainly you are going to a
    famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

  3. I am glad you liked the post!

  4. Tremendous issues here. I’m very glad to peer your post.
    Thank you so much and I am taking a look forward to contact
    you. Will you kindly drop me a e-mail?

  5. Hi there! Do you know if they make any plugins to protect against hackers?
    I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard on. Any tips?

  6. I am glad you liked the post!

  7. Hi my friend! I want to say that this post is amazing, nice written and come with approximately all important infos.
    I’d like to peer extra posts like this .

  8. Thank you for your enthusiastic comments! And welcome to my blog!

  9. Hello there I am so thrilled I found your web site, I really found you by accident,
    while I was looking on Yahoo for something else, Nonetheless
    I am here now and would just like to say many thanks for
    a remarkable post and a all round interesting blog (I
    also love the theme/design), I don’t have
    time to read through it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and
    also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the superb b.

  10. It’s appropriate time to make a few plans for the longer term and it is time to be happy.
    I have learn this submit and if I may I wish to counsel you few interesting things or tips.
    Perhaps you can write subsequent articles regarding this article.
    I wish to learn even more issues approximately it!

  11. Excellent way of explaining, and nice piece of writing to take data concerning my presentation focus, which i am going to convey in school.

  12. Hello there, I found your site by way of
    Google at the same time as searching for a related subject, your website got here up, it appears great.
    I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hi there, just was alert to your weblog thru Google,
    and located that it is really informative. I’m
    gonna watch out for brussels. I will be grateful for those who continue this in future.
    Numerous people shall be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!