The art of crocheting

imageWhen I was in fourth grade in school, we learned how to crochet. I loved it, but then when I learned to knit, in grade five, I found it much more fun than crocheting. All I ever saw my aunt and my mum crochet, were table cloths and doilies, and even though I grew up in a home with these, I’ve never seen the point of them. Boring! Dust collectors! But a couple of years ago, these funny little things called Amigurumi showed up, and for them you need your crocheting skills again. I did try my hand at Amigurumi, two Easters ago. I was going to make a little bunny for my British pen-friend, who does not do crafts herself, like cross-stitching, crocheting, knitting. If it turned out alright, I was going to make one for “Cookie” as well, for her Easter egg, and perhaps one for “Gubby” as well, who was only three at the time. BUT, something went wrong with the head. And something went very wrong with the ears, since one ear became twice as big as the other. I gave up! If it is going to be a struggle, I have funnier things to do with my life. The yarn, pattern and needle was put back in the little plastic bag it came in, from the yarn shop, and I have not picked it up again. But it has been humiliating watching a friend, sitting at scrapbooking, manufacturing animal after animal, just like that… She learned to crochet from a book she borrowed from her library, and now she crochets without a pattern.

At the yearly book sale, I saw the above book and fell in love with the teddy and the penguin. Perfect to make for “Gubby”. Don’t have anyone else to make things for! (Sob!) The animals are bigger than Amigurumi, otherwise I would not even have looked twice at the book. But D. talked me out of getting it. Two weeks after the sale started, they put all sale books on half price of the sale price. I could not resist the book any further, and came home with it. I purchased yarn for the teddy and penguin, a week ago, and sat down in front of the TV, trying to make the teddy. Only to discover that the author of the book, is a worse mathematician than myself. Did not think that possible!? But the sums she comes up with, for each row and when you add new stitches, do not add up! So… After consulting with my crocheting friend, and her telling me that her math added up to what mine did, I moved ahead and did my own thing. So far, I have the following pieces:

image

But I see the problems looming ahead. The author of this book, has not given instructions on how to sew together the pieces. My friend is clueless. The shop owners where I bought the yarn, are clueless. Why can things not ever be allowed to be simple? Why can I not buy a book with patterns and the book contain what it promises to contain? Why does everything have to be up-hill? How on earth, am I going to get this teddy together in to one piece? Yes, I have one more arm to make first and two more ear pieces. But I sit and don’t know how to get the bottom piece (fifth from the left) on to the bell shaped body, which includes the head. And the snout is so huge and oddly shaped, I am afraid it will destroy the teddy’s looks entirely. And why are the ears round instead of half moons (fourth from the left)? If I had to rate this book, I’m afraid I would give it only one star. There are people out there, who bought this book full price! When you invest your money in a book full of patterns, the least you expect is that it will contain correct patterns and instructions on how to make the things in the book, from beginning to end. This book does neither!

8 Comments

Filed under What's Up

8 responses to “The art of crocheting

  1. Thank you! I am glad that you enjoyed the post and your facebook group as well!!!!

  2. Hey therе! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website ԝith us so
    I came to take a look. I’m definitely enjօying the information. I’m bookmarking
    and will be tweeting this to my followerѕ! Superb Ƅlоg and brilliant style and design.

  3. I am not sure what you are asking. I just set up an account with WordPress and picked a theme out of the ones that do not cost anything. It is all set up for you. No options really except background colour.

  4. I am glad you liked the post! Welcome back and good luck with your own ventures!

  5. Heya i am for theе first time here. I found this board and I find It truly
    uѕeful & it helped me out mucɦ. I hope to givе sօmething back and help others
    like you helpеed me.

  6. Hey woսld you mind ѕharing which blog platform you’re worкing with?

    I’m planning to start my own blog in tɦe near future but I’m hsving a hard tіme choosing
    between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and
    Drupal. Thhe rеason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogѕ аnd
    I’m looking for something unique. P.S Mʏ apologieѕ for being off-topic but I had to
    ask!

  7. Your roommate constantly talked about crocheting? Interesting! Glad you found the post fun to read!

  8. Hello tҺeгe! This article ϲouldn’t be written much better!
    Looking through this post reminds me of my previous roοmmate!
    He constantly kept talking about thiѕ. I most certainly will forward this post to him.
    Pretty sure he’s going to have a good read. I apprecіate you for sharing!