The latest on the Roma beggars in Sweden

imageJust like I predicted months ago, Romania are not willing to do anything about their country men sitting on our streets. This morning when I drove to pre-school with “Gubby”, I heard on the news that the Swedish government is demanding that Romania uses a section of their alloted EU money, to help their poor Roma population. Romania’s answer being that EU countries should stay out of their business and they have no intention of using the money on the Roma. The case is now going to the EU commission and I hope that it once and for all is settled, that the Roma should not be allowed to leave Romania and enter other EU countries to beg. I am sick and tired of seeing them in Lund. I have come to dread going down town to shop or just to go window shopping, because they will not leave you alone with their coffee cups. In their minds, I guess I am rich, but what do they know about my financial situation? What does the man standing outside the shoe shop know about my shopping inside it? That I have been in there for hours trying to find gym shoes for my daughter, which I can afford and that will not be of such a poor quality, that they break down after a week. Like “Kitty’s” did last autumn.

Saturday, I did not even want to go in there to shop, because I resent those beggars attacking me. My husband said, why? We pay tithing to church and fast offering. We have already paid as much as we can to charity! D. wanted to know what one is expected to do. I told him the following: “Say I had 10,000 in the bank and took all that money out and put it in my bag and then headed downtown, walked up to the Roma man who stands outside the bookshop shaking his body, and gave it all to him, what would happen? I would instantly imagebe poor and not be able to take care of my family, for one. ( Not like I have that 10,000 in the bank anyway but if I did…)  What would it do? You think that the lady sitting outside the clothing shop further down the street will be happy over what I have done? No, she will put her mug in my face and ask for money, just like she always does. And the man 20 steps down the street, outside the shoe shop, and the woman sitting in front of Åhlens, another 20 meters down the street? You think they care that I gave my last money to the shaking man in front of the book shop? No, they don’t. They will be angry since I did not give it to them. They will be jealous. IF you are going to give money to beggars, do so in an organized manner! Find a charity that will distribute the funds in an orderly manner and so that it benefits all and not the individual who gets lucky one day and not his neighbour. And talking about the shaker, you don’t think he will stick his mug in my face the next day again?”

I am sorry but I am disgusted by the Roma beggars now. That I can not take the little money that I have, and go in to town and buy what my family need, without them giving me dirty looks and “telling” me that I am a selfish cow who should have given the money to them instead. We have lots of discussions about the phenomena in our family since the children see them all the time from the bus to the school. A member of our congregation had felt sorry for them so he had gone and bought the some food. He walked up to and gave it to them and what did they do? Threw the food after him. Same thing happened to this nice, sweet elderly missionary, with a heart of gold, who now have gone back to the US. He and his wife served an 18 month mission in Lund, taking care of the youth center and he had bought milk for one of the beggars. The beggar took the milk and threw it at this very old man’s back! A man wearing a nice missionary suit and name tag telling everyone that he represents our church as a missionary! In other words, they are not starving at all. They choose the charity that they want. It’s just the cash they want, nothing else. Just like I said in my previous beggar post.

Since that post, the Swedish police tried to clear a camp site of it’s 2000 Roma campers. Uproar in the Swedish press but there was no compassion in the write ups anymore. The Roma had dirtied the place down in indescribable terms, which is not acceptable in Sweden. The Swedish people is now responding the way some police forces around the country, expected. Youths are throwing stones at the beggars. Shop owners are throwing cold water on them. And instagram are getting more and more photos posted with photos and the text that they are  the scum of society. In Linköping, a man stood waiting at a bus stop when a Roma woman stuck a sign in his face. He pushed the beggar away from him, she fell and witnesses reported it all to the police, so the man was charged with assault. He turned around and had the Roma charged with molesting him.

There was a long article about it all in Friday’s paper actually. The police says that the more irritated the Swedes become with the beggars, the more aggressive the beggars are getting. People are ignoring them for the most part, since we all have got used to them being there. Noone want to give them money anymore. So they are now stalking people and holding on to people’s clothes.

Shop owners in Gothenburg have contacted the police to find out what is allowed to do to these people. Since many of them throw water on them to move away from their shop windows or entrances. And my question still is the same. Why were they allowed to come in the first place? Why was Romania let in to the EU, when they are clearly living according to ways and customs of past centuries. If one is going to be a member of the EU, certain criteria should be required. Democracy for one. But also, that the country can afford membership AND most of all, that they can take care of their own citizens. EU was not meant as a charity organisation. There are organizations for that sort of thing, but EU is supposed to be so much more than that! The world has just gone completely lopsided. Since these Roma are such a terrible problem to the rest of Europe, why are the countries living next door to Romania, letting them across their borders? Stop them right there and Romania might actually understand that EU are being serious. Stop them right there so that Romania wakes up and deals with it’s own problems, instead of just dumping them on the rest of us.

I know it sounds incredibly xenophobic, but I am sorry, I completely believe in sweeping up on one’s own porch first. I sit with two youths that have not received summer jobs this summer, because there are no jobs for youths between 16-20. They can’t get any allowance from the state, even though the situation is the way it is, because Sweden must save money. I sit with a son who could not get in to the military, because his IQ is below average, who has to sit and pack yoga products because there are no other jobs available, him not having a driver’s license, it costing too much to get one.

I sit with a child diagnosed with ADHD, a diagnosis which has been declared not being a problem at all in the school system, since the schools do not have any money to help these children. But it sure wears class mates, teachers and parents down! In the long run it will cost the state when all the teachers have to take early retirement. After all, 25% of all children have ADHD and the school is not built and set up for their problems. How much are not these children going to cost when they graduate without passing grades? Not having received the help they needed to pass? I sit with a child diagnosed with Autism, who will require lots of help in school like all the other children, 1 in 38 children, who have Autism. But guess what? There is no money for this either. I sit in a house too small for our family, with a malfunctioning fridge, with a broken down stove… But guess what, we have to live with our broken down house and appliance park, since my husband’s job doesn’t pay enough to buy anything except food and pay the bills. And I sit here with 6 children to look after, basically all on my own, because my husband having past 50 and being of foreign extraction, could only get a job hours away from here. Sweden need to take a good look at it’s own citizens and what their needs are. Just like the Romanians need to do with theirs. More and more children in our country grow up in poverty and Swedish politicians have just found out some months ago, that the Swedish school system is beyond critique. The children are not learning what they are supposed to, and guess why? Because there is no money!!!

20 Comments

Filed under What's Up

20 responses to “The latest on the Roma beggars in Sweden

  1. Well, some people might think I have a harsh view on them. But having dirty beggars on the streets of Sweden, is definately not the Swedish way. Why should Sweden have to look the way it did in the 1700s-1800s, AGAIN!?? Then it was our own people, begging on the streets, but here people have put it in to system, to flood other countries than their own, TO BEG! Where is the sanity in all this?

  2. I for all time emailed this webpage post page to all my contacts,
    because if like to read it after that my contacts will too.

  3. Which planet do you come from? I don’t post any videos what so ever on my blog. Some pictures but 99% of it IS WRITING! Leave your comments on the righ blog in the future and not on mine.

  4. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you
    relied on the video to make your point. You obviously know what
    youre talking about, why waste your intelligence on just posting
    videos to your weblog when you could be giving us something enlightening to read?

  5. Hi, i feel that i saw you visited my weblog thus i got here to return the desire?.I
    am attempting to find issues to improve my website!I assume its good enough to use some of your
    ideas!!

  6. My life is pretty mundande but I guess noone lives in a vacuum and to others, my life might seem exciting or exotic. It really isn’t, but at the same time, none of us live the same life as someone else, and we all have different thoughts about what we go through. To me, that has always been the most fascinating thing about people, how they handle their problems and what they have to go through in life. I am glad, there are people who enjoy reading about, what my life is like, as a mother of seven children, in Sweden, today.

  7. Everyone loves what you guys tend to be up too. This type of clever work and reporting!
    Keep up the fantastic works guys I’ve you guys to my own blogroll.

  8. I am glad you enjoyed the visit!

  9. This is my first time pay a visit at here and i am genuinely happy to read everthing at alone place.

  10. This website should be critical reading for everybody.
    Anticipate more of your coming blog posts.

  11. Thank you very much! I just wrote an angry answer to someone who think my titles are too bland. It warms my heart to know that lots of people out there care more about the contents of my posts than details like catchy titles! The post you read was the second one I’ve written on the topic, if you search the archive, you should be able to find the previous one. 🙂

  12. I just have one thing to say to your comment. If you had surfed around my blog and among my posts, you would very soon have realized that I blog for my own sanity, not to please others and get one thousand readers! You would also have realized that I have seven children to look after, or rather six living at home and one nightmare, living by himself. My three youngest are handicapped with ADHD and Autism, which means if you can’t figure it out yourself, that I am needed 24 hours a day. My life do not circle around my blog. My children are more important than the perfect catchy title and anyone who does not agree with that, needs to get a grip on themselves. Honestly, to sit and argue about a title being bland and vanilla. Do you know how many have actually read that particular post and have loved it? They see the content, they see ME. The title is just the fly catcher but you know what, I couldn’t have cared less if not a single person had read my post. I needed to vent, I did vent and then I was done with it. People interested in the topic will read it no matter what the title is. I do not need readers who go for fun titles. I have never claimed to be part of the team at the Daily Mail or Daily Express or National Enquirer! If you want catchy titles, go and read a newspaper instead!

  13. This post will assist the internet users for setting up new weblog or even a weblog from start to end.

  14. I believe everything said was actually very
    logical. However, what about this? what if you composed a catchier post title?
    I mean, I don’t wish to tell you how to run your blog,
    but what if you added a post title that makes people want more?
    I mean The latest on the Roma beggars in Sweden | Luthién Arnatuilë is a little vanilla.
    You could glance at Yahoo’s front page and see how they write news titles
    to get people to open the links. You might add a related video
    or a picture or two to get readers interested about what you’ve got
    to say. Just my opinion, it would make your website a little bit more interesting.

  15. You are so interesting! I don’t suppose I’ve read through something like this before. So wonderful to find somebody with unique thoughts on this subject. Really.. thank you for starting this up. This website is one thing that is needed on the internet, someone with some originality!

  16. I am glad you enjoy my posts! Not sure what you mean with the latter part of your comment? I’ve written about Hypothyroid and all the conflicting things I have heard, about what can be done. I’ve written about my children’s school and my thoughts about God’s plan for us. Three very different topics, all published this week.

  17. Wonderful issues altogether, you just received a brand new reader. What could you suggest in regards to your publish that you made a few days ago? Any sure?

  18. Hello there! This blog post couldn’t be written any better! Going through this post reminds me of my previous roommate! He continually kept preaching about this. I am going to send this post to him. Pretty sure he’ll have a very good read. Many thanks for sharing!