Nepotism in Lund: Council summer jobs go to family as always!

Three summers in a row, D. applied for a summer job with the council. He applied in plenty of time, he said on the application that he could work any of the three time periods. BUT he could not tick the box that we have a social worker assigned to our family nor could he tick the box that he regularly sees the school counselor. They make it sound like the jobs at the council just go to the needy. At the same time, they write that the jobs are distributed according to the lottery system.

The strange thing is, that these jobs all go to youths whose parents work for the council in one capacity or the other. In the top-notch jobs. It’s the youths, like our neighbour, who has no financial problems at all, who get the jobs. Two years in a row, our neighbour’s son, got a cushy job. He has more money to spend than he knows what to do with. Lives by the computer. Lazy git. School food is not good enough for him, so he goes and eats at the fast food chains in town. All his money is spent on food, computer games and fun, fun, fun. His parents just showers him in money. Last year, “his” job went to his sister, because “the personnel had liked working with him so much”. In other words, the word lottery is just a blatant lie. The same principle that ruled who were going to get the council summer jobs, when I was a youth looking for a summer job, rules today. Without contacts, you can’t get a summer job. I had no contacts, my children have no contacts since I don’t work and my husband works for a private firm, which does not employ kids. In other words, my children are doomed to sit here all summer long, doing nothing. Getting no money of their own. Getting no work experience.

The state changed the rules for family allowance many years ago. When your child has graduated from 9th grade, you do not get the allowance during the three summer months. The youth is supposed to go out and work during those months. Even though there are no jobs in Sweden for more than a handful of youths. So, the majority of 16-19 year-olds lay in bed all summer, watches TV on their computers or play computer games. That is what my two youths did last summer, after they did not get summer jobs. BUT truth be told, D. did help me when I needed help with his siblings. He did help out with cooking. And he always does his chores. It’s “Dollie” that does not lift a finger. She does not do imageher chores and all summer long, last year, she did not help me one bit. She even went to stay with friends for long times, in order for us not to be able to ask any “favours” of her. Just dumping her dishwashing days on her dad. Cleaning the kitchen floor on me. Leaving me to go hunting for all her dirty clothes in that stinky room of hers and for her father to search for dirty dishes, in the same room. The same thing will be repeated this summer. She just received a letter in the post saying that she did not get one of the few summer jobs with the council. (Like working by the council pool. Working on the grounds crew.)

I am really angry about it. So angry I could spit. WE are in need of money. But, had she received a job, I would not have taken the money. I would just have been happy to have her out of the house. I can not stand that a 16-year-old (in August all of 17!), who could help, refuses to do so. That I am run ragged, while someone else who could help, lays and sleeps till noon and then sits on a computer for a couple of hours, goes to the pool with her dad, expects a ready dinner when they get back and then back on the computer for film watching. It’s one thing to wait on people who can’t take care of themselves, but I honestly expect more from the ones who can! Thanks a lot again, Council of Lund, for kicking at the people who are already laying down!!!

21 Comments

Filed under What's Up

21 responses to “Nepotism in Lund: Council summer jobs go to family as always!

  1. Thank you for visiting my blog!

  2. Thank you a lot for sharing this with all folks you actually know what you are talking about! Bookmarked. Kindly also seek advice from my website =). We can have a hyperlink change agreement among us!
    Michael Kors designs http://www.lakesidecertified.com/images/Michael-Kors/Michael-Kors-designs.html

  3. Definitely believe that which you said. Your favorite justification seemed to be on the net the simplest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I certainly get irked while people think about worries that they just don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people could take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thanks
    cartera louis vuitton original http://b222.les-regals-de-l-orient.fr

  4. Thank you for the compliment. I’m afraid that I really stink when it comes to technology so there is no way I could modify any theme. Would be nice if I could. Then I would make my blog more user friendly, like having tabs for different topics. I see these fancy sites and wonder what skills they have, that I lack. Needless to say, my theme is one of WordPress’ free ones. I would never pay for a theme, when I don’t know how to do the technical things, to make it look the way I want it to look. The only thing Pilcrow (my theme) allowed me to do, really, was choose colours! It looks alright I suppose. I love books and the cozy feel of an old-fashioned library in a country house. So those were the colours I went for, as well as trying to create something which is easy on the eye. Too many people choose white background and black writing, and it at least hurts my eyes.

  5. I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Anyway keep up the excellent quality writing, it’s rare to see a great blog like this one these days..
    Replica pharrell louis vuitton sunglasses http://c222.restaurant-mairie-fletre.fr

  6. Thank you for your comment! I am glad you enjoy my blog!

  7. Definitely, what a fantastic website and instructive posts, I surely will bookmark your site.Have an awsome day!
    le borse louis vuitton http://d222.restaurant-mairie-fletre.fr

  8. Touche. Great arguments. Keep up the good spirit.

  9. I am not sure I have so much more to say on the topic. My children did not get a summer job this summer. Nor last summer or the summer before that. The council says it is a lottery but it is not. They give the jobs to their own kids. That is how it is today, and that is what it was like when I was a teenager. My complaint is that it ought to have changed! This is not alright! When there are few jobs, everyone should compete with the same chances. If not so, then they should check parents’ incomes and give the jobs to the teenagers who are must needy.

  10. Outstanding post however I was wondering if you could
    write a litte more on this topic? I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit further.
    Many thanks!

  11. Hey very cool web site!! Guy .. Excellent .. Amazing ..
    I’ll bookmark your blog and take the feeds additionally?
    I’m satisfied to seek out so many useful info here in the submit, we need work out extra strategies in this regard, thank you for sharing.

    . . . . .

  12. I am delighted! Always fun to hear from people who enjoy reading what I write!!! I hope to be able to write some more this week but my son has six papers due next Monday, for different subjects, and he has threatened me with that I have to edit them all, i.e. check grammar and spelling. Meaning, I will sit and read through them all, from philosphy, which I detest, to cultural history. All papers due, to graduate from gymnasium in June. I live to serve!

  13. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button!
    I’d certainly donate to this brilliant blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for book-marking and
    adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to fresh updates and will share this site with my Facebook
    group. Talk soon!

  14. Thank you very much! I’m glad you enjoyed reading the post!

  15. Pingback: WM trikot 2014

  16. I’m glad you liked my post and that it reminded you to contact an old friend! 🙂 I’m sure it will bring a bitter taste to his mouth, when he is reminded of how disgusting it is, that things have not moved forward in this department. That people born with a silver spoon in their mouths, always land on their feet! That society have not progressed one bit!

  17. Hello there! This post could not be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my good old room mate! He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this article to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read. Thank you for sharing!