Children’s book-sale finds: “Linnea in Monet’s Garden”, Jan Lööf, Catarina Kruusval…

I was not going to write a post on this but “Gubby”, and even the other boys and one girl, really loved the books I came home with, mainly for them, so I thought I might show them here as well. Who knows, Swedes reading this, might actually be inspired and able to find copies still?

imageMy greatest find that I became most excited about, was the book I tried to buy in 2012, when we were heading out to Normandy. It’s a book that we have borrowed plenty of times at the library but somehow I have never got around to buying it for us. Well, in 2012, I tried, in order to take it with us on our trip. My intention was to stop at Monet’s Giverny, on the way to Paris, after our week in Normandy. As things turned out, “Cookie” and I were voted down! The two of us were the only ones that wanted to go see where Monet used to live, who wanted to see the lovely bridge, the pond, the water lilies… But the saddest part was that the book was out of print! So, when I saw it on the book sale, I of course had to pick up our own copy at last. I love the bookimage (Linnea in Monet’s garden) and the combination of Christina Björk’s and Lena Andersson’s story about Linnea intermixing with facts on Monet, his paintings and his house with garden. To me, the drawn pictures of Linnea and her friend, who goes to see Giverny and the paintings in Paris, are so typically Swedish. It’s no wonder that this book has been translated in to English because it truly is imagevery pretty. This particular book-find at the sale, also came with an extra bonus, which I did not notice until I came home. It also includes the 30 minute Television program that was made for Swedish TV, many years ago. So, even though “Gubby” being too young to appreciate this book, he will certainly love to see the film. Clearly, the one of my children who enjoyed us getting the book the most, was “Cookie”, aged 13.

The book that “Gubby” is completely and utterly besotted with was one I did notimage even notice the first day, that I attended the sale. Maybe it was sold out, at that bookshop? I went again to another sister shop, the 26th, and that is when I did the next find.  “My Animal World”. I saw its possibility’s since it is both a book, a puzzle, perfect for small hands and especially for a child who is behind in its speech development. So far he sleeps with his beloved book, hand on it, so noone can imagetake it away from him, and he likes to read the books to US. All the little books have the same order of things. First it tells the name of the animal, second spread says where the animal lives, third the name of the animal’s child or in case it does not have a special name, something specific about the baby …, the fourth tells what the animal eats and the final one, what the animal sounds like and what it is called. Perfect! “Gubby” knows exactly which hole to put the book back in to, since the pictures are printed at the bottom of the box, as seen above. It truly was a book that my boys find very exciting, even the 10-year-old, but their brother doesn’t like to share it!

The other wonderful book was  the one called “Three songs” by Catarinaimage Kruusval. It has three Swedish children’s songs in it, with one sentence on every spread and a cute picture of course relating to the sentence. For “Gubby”, but also for “Boo”, it makes it easier to learn songs, since they finally can put a picture to the words, and remember it better. I love Catarina Krusvaal’s books and drawings so much. Also something I associate with being a typically Swedish look. “Gubby” and I have been sitting singing now all week. He loves the three songs that have pictures, but he is also warming up to the final song, which was just one spread all together. All in all you get four traditional songs, that all of us have grown up with.

imageThe fourth find, was too advanced for “Gubby”, five years old, with late speech development. But the older children love it. I am a newcomer really, to Jan Lööf’s world. Or, not really, but for some reason I have not liked his pictures before so I have avoided his work. Now I do like it though. Last autumn, when it stood clear that “Boo” was going to have a real difficult time learning how to read, I first invested in a card game, with Jan Lööf’s alphabet pictures. For a while there, we played it every day. You can see pictures of the card game, on my twitter. Then when he still would not crack the reading code, even having a difficult time remembering the names of the letters, then I bought a Jan Lööf alphabet puzzle. Lovely! Now the book sale had a book with three of his stories in it. Since “Boo” really loves when I read to him, I bought it and hope of imagecourse that soon, he will be able to read it himself!?

The stories are exciting. One being about the little boy who has a grandfather who claims to having been a pirate captain. They go in search of a treasure, which an Arab pirate named Omar, ceased many years previous. Instead of getting the treasure, the grandfather is captured by Omar and the grandfather gets put in a prison, but the boy rescues him. Their road back home, is a hazardous one.  The second story is about a red apple and is both hilarious and shows how one thing can lead to another. What is it they say, if a butterfly flaps it’s wings on one side of the earth, then… The third story is a really funny one about “Scrap-Nisse”. This little boy Kalle, is going to be baby-sat by Scrap-Nisse. The latter has bought an old paddle-steamer, that he intends to restore and go to Africa in. His friend Kvarnsten is going with him and he is somewhat of a magician, Scrap-Nisse says. They restore the boat for a week and then Scrap-Nisse and Kvarnsten sets off for Africa, but with Kalle as a stow-away. One hour out, Kalle sees Kvarnsten trying to conjure up a storm that will bring them to Africa quickly. It works! But Scrap-Nisse discovers Kalle. He has abandoned the steering wheel, and their boat crashes. The three of them crawls up a mountain-side while the two men tell Kalle that they are in Africa. They find a hut where they lay down to sleep and when they wake up, a zebra has entered the hut. But when they walk outside, they discover that they are in the city’s zoo, in the Savannah part.

There are soooooo many wonderful children’s books on the sale. But I usually try to follow the rule, that children tire of one thing quickly and then move on to the next. For the most part, I try to borrow children’s books at the library. Then you can change the inventory in your book-case often enough for a child’s taste and attention span. To get books for the book-devouring-aged children and teenagers, is no point at all, unless it is Harry Potter! They read everything else often too quickly, only once and never again. But as far as Harry Potter, I have seen them all, read them over and over again. Even if they are priced right, it is no fun to see a book finished in two-three hours and then never looked at again.

20 Comments

Filed under What's Up

20 responses to “Children’s book-sale finds: “Linnea in Monet’s Garden”, Jan Lööf, Catarina Kruusval…

  1. I think that this “heartbleed” or whatever the virus was called, proved to us all, that hackers can get in anywhere and whenever they want to. It’s their hobby to make the world an unsafe place, just for the fun of it. The only thing I can say is, that either they win and keep you silent, because you are too afraid of what harm they can do. Or you go on and blog as usual, hoping for the best.
    I don’t know any way that one can protect oneself and I am sure that if you ask WordPress, you will not receive a word from them. They never answer any questions that you have, which I find a really big flaw with this site of theirs. There should be a real support team that will help you solve all problems that you may encounter. But there isn’t.
    As for protection, I must try and believe in that why would they be interested in small fish. They go after big organisations. That must be more gratifying for them. To crack one of them, is a big feather in their hats, not hacking in to some mere mortal’s blog.
    I just did recall though, this Swedish pseudo-celebrity, who had started a blog and then abandoned it. Her blog was hi-jacked because she wasn’t using it. But on the other hand, my son’s history teacher has told my son that he has started several blogs and have abandoned them all. Nothing has happened to them. He actually recommends the students to start a blog just to publish one paper for his class.
    Sorry if I can not be more helpful!

  2. Hello! Do you know if they make any plugins to protect against hackers?
    I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard on.

    Any tips?

  3. Thank you, I am delighted that you like my blog posts. I am having a very busy week at the moment, so I haven’t had time to edit some of the posts, I wrote this weekend. I will try to look them over though, in between nagging people to do their homework and helping out with papers.
    I am on twitter but I am not always up to date there either. For the most part I just re-tweet things I find interesting! Look for milliemumof7.

  4. Hello there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be
    ok. I’m undoubtedly enjoying your blog and look forward to
    new posts.

  5. Thank you! I am not going to say I aim to please, but it is always fun to hear when people like what I have written.

  6. Keep up the wonderful piece of work, I read few content on this web site and I believe that your website is really interesting and has got sets of great information.

  7. Thank you! I who feared that maybe it was a little bit too dark or boring? But it does tell who I am, a person who reads a lot and love books!

  8. But wanna remark that you have a very decent web site , I like the design it actually stands out.

  9. Sketches are genuinely fastidious source of instruction instead of content Children’s book-sale finds: “Linnea in Monet’s Garden”, Jan Lööf, Catarina Kruusval… | Luthién Arnatuilë , its my knowledge, what would you say?

  10. It an awesome post Children’s book-sale finds: “Linnea in Monet’s Garden”, Jan Lööf, Catarina Kruusval… | Luthién Arnatuilë for all the web users; they will take benefit from it I am sure.

  11. I have just written a post about this. I AM NOT THE ONE POSTING YOUTUBE CLIPS ON MY BLOG so you might as well unsubscribe. What ever WordPress does behind my back, has nothing to do with my life and blog.

  12. Remarkable YouTube video clips posted at this web site, I am going to subscribe for regularly updates, for the reason that I don’t want to fail to take this series Children’s book-sale finds: “Linnea in Monet’s Garden”, Jan Lööf, Catarina Kruusval… | Luthién Arnatuilë .

  13. very good website congratulations my name hugo

  14. Hi to every body, it my first pay a visit of this webpage; this web site Children’s book-sale finds: “Linnea in Monet’s Garden”, Jan Lööf, Catarina Kruusval… | Luthién Arnatuilë consists of amazing and in fact excellent stuff for readers.

  15. This text Children’s book-sale finds: “Linnea in Monet’s Garden”, Jan Lööf, Catarina Kruusval… | Luthién Arnatuilë is invaluable. When can I find out more?

  16. What a material of un-ambiguity and preserveness of valuable know-how on the topic of unexpected emotions Children’s book-sale finds: “Linnea in Monet’s Garden”, Jan Lööf, Catarina Kruusval… | Luthién Arnatuilë .

  17. You can also see the Jan Lööf alphabet puzzle, on my Twitter. Both in my photos there. Alias milliemumof7.