Beggars

Life is so full of contradictions. Was it last year that I sat and read most of the Katitzi books for my children? Reviewed them here and on Shelfari. Trying to tell my children about the Roma people. But there is no way to really talk about a people as one, is there? On the one side you have Katarina Taikon’s view. And her very angry sister’s view, that was broadcast at last year’s book fair in Gothenburg,when she was interviewed and railroaded the journalist. According to her, the Swedish people is ghastly and still treating “her people” poorly.

Then we have the Roma people that we encountered in Italy, last time we were there. The beggars in Florence. The ones that threaten you, put curses on you, ball you out for not giving them money. The ones that one moment stand in front of you and point at their pregnant bellies, and then you watch them a moment later, behind a corner, taking out the pillow from under their skirts. The ones that stick their heads in to your car, when you are trying to listen to the GPS, having stopped at a red light, trying to get out of the city of Pisa. Stick their heads in to your car and shove a mug in your face, while you try to concentrate, expecting you to put money in the mug and then swear at you in Romani, when you don’t.

The beggars have now been present in Lund for about a year. And the debate has been strong in our country. What to do with them? Is begging on the streets disturbing the traffic? The flow of people? The police in Stockholm finally decided that it is allowed. But is it truly appropriate? On Champs Elysée, these beggar women sat in a long row with about ten meters between each beggar. And I can only say, that I found it unpleasant. Likewise seeing a beggar sitting in the metro with her poor bored small children. To see them sitting in Lund, outside the supermarket by the train station, outside the book shop down town… It is so not Sweden. They sit there with their fancy coffee mugs which shows that before they sat down to beg, they had a cup of coffee to set them off. They sit and mumble at you, in Romani, like we are supposed to understand what they are saying. For all I know, they might be telling me that I look like a fat cow?!

Many people do give them money. They feel so sorry for them, to be so poor that they have to beg. Someone in Church said that it is not for us to judge them, to say “How do I know what they will use the money for? How do I know that they are really poor?”. But half of the population in Sweden is asking these questions. The other half is saying “We should help them get an education so they don’t have to be so poor, so they can get a job and not beg” and some are saying “We should give them shelter, food to eat, clothes to wear. Let’s set up a help organisation”.

Last week, they finally interviewed these Roma beggars, which was about time, I would say and what I have been telling my children since we were in Florence and Pisa, was confirmed in the interviews: “We have come here from Romania to beg for money so we can build out our house with an extra room. Our family has five members and we need one more room.”. People that see them on the streets do not understand that these Roma beggars are no regular homeless people begging. They are not homeless. We saw some of them arriving in Sweden this summer, when we had to pull in to a parking lot right after the Copenhagen bridge, so I could run to the loo. They come in caravans, entire families, for one sole purpose: To beg for money! They have no intention of doing an honest day of work. They have no desire to get an education here. They have come here to get money in the most effortless way possible.

Today,  on the news they said that politicians have finally reacted and are now turning to the Romanian government, demanding that they take care of their own citizens. They are being asked to pay for social welfare for their own, because the Swedish government do not want this on its shoulders. We should not have to support the Romanian Roma beggars. Let’s say, I doubt very much that the Romanian government will pay a penny for them. A futile attempt by the Swedish government, reacting too late, to a problem that is constantly growing. Perhaps they should have listened to the rapports from Italy and France? They had the problem first and the only thing that Sweden did was condemn them for their harsh treatment of the Roma.

I can understand Rosa Taikon’s anger, at the treatment that her family had to go through in the 1930s, during the war and even after that. But let’s face it, she just can’t defend this behaviour of the Romanian Roma. You can’t have one segment of the population that has put it in to a system, to live off the others like parasites. It will create feelings of disgust and hatred. To continue play a victim, instead of proving that you are not like the stereotype that you are accused of being, leaves a very sour taste in everybody’s mouth. Including mine. I will not teach my children that these people are anything but parasites. I will not donate a single penny to them. Sorry, call me un-Christian, but God says that we must try to take care of ourselves and do our bit. And to go to a foreign country for the purpose of begging and playing on people’s feelings, is not doing your bit to take care of yourself. Its forcing other people to take care of YOU!

50 Comments

Filed under What's Up

50 responses to “Beggars

  1. Asking questions are in fact pleasant thing if you are not understanding something
    completely, however this piece of writing offers pleasant understanding even.

  2. Thank you for the comment. I’m glad you found the post useful!

  3. Contact details? Don’t know what you mean. One can sign up to follow the blog, somewhere on the page, I’m sure. Or commenting on it, like you already have. Glad you liked the post.

  4. Not sure if you are really commenting on my blog? I am one person and I do not post any YouTube clips! If that is what you have seen, you are commenting on the wrong blog and post.

  5. My brother recommended I may like this web site. He was once totally right.
    This publish truly made my day. You cann’t believe simply how
    a lot time I had spent for this info! Thank you!

  6. Everyone loves what you guys tend to be up too. This kind of clever work and reporting!
    Keep up the terrific works guys I’ve included you guys to my personal
    blogroll.

  7. This is a topic that’s near to my heart… Many thanks! Where are your contact details though?

  8. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This
    is a really well written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful info.
    Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely return.

  9. I’m glad you enjoyed the post. I welcome all new readers and hope they will find something interesting or useful. My blog is not dedicated to one thing in particular, except my life and observations, my thoughts on matters.

  10. Good day very nice blog!! Man .. Excellent ..
    Wonderful .. I will bookmark your web site and take the feeds additionally?
    I’m satisfied to find numerous helpful info right here in
    the put up, we want work out more strategies on
    this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . .
    .

  11. I have read so many content regarding the blogger lovers
    but this post is genuinely a fastidious article, keep it up.

  12. Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this website. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s very hard to get that “perfect balance” between usability and visual appearance. I must say that you’ve done a awesome job with this. Additionally, the blog loads extremely fast for me on Internet explorer. Superb Blog!

  13. Thank you very much! I guess the remarkable thing with Internet is that you can find a lot of fun things by accident. Usually I don’t find things when I search for them. It’s more of a slide in on a site, by a banana peel.

  14. Thank you! I am glad you like the blog theme. I wanted it to say something about me, and books are my passion so… I also experimented with colours that are easy on the eye. I wanted it all to give a cozy library feel.
    After hearing someone else having trouble with reading the blog, I am glad that Firefox co-operates, since I have moved over to writing everything in Safari.

  15. Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this site.
    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s challenging to
    get that “perfect balance” between usability and visual appearance.
    I must say you have done a very good job with
    this. Also, the blog loads very fast for me on Firefox. Excellent Blog!

  16. Hello I am so excited I found your blog page, I really found you by error,
    while I was looking on Google for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just
    like to say kudos for a remarkable post and
    a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the minute but I
    have bookmarked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when
    I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up
    the awesome job.

  17. Spectacular column! Particularly explanatory.

  18. I am sorry you are experiencing trouble reading my blog. I can only say that up till Christmas, I used an old laptop, writing everything in Firefox. Christmas day, I invested in an iPad 2 on sale with a loose keyboard. I was tired of it taking 20 minutes to boot up my laptop and as long to get on the internet! I will continue writing all my posts on Safari. My husband says Internet Explorer will never be an option. He is the computer expert, not me, so…
    Hope you can continue reading on Safari, since that seems to work!

  19. Thank you for reading and commenting.

  20. It’s going to be ending of mine day, except before finish I am reading this wonderful post
    to increase my know-how.

  21. Hello, I think your site might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog site in Safari, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some
    overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up!
    Other then that, terrific blog!

  22. Thank you! Hope you will find some other posts interesting to read, in the future as well.

  23. Hello! I believe I have already given an answer to this question a couple of weeks ago? I would not feel comfortable writing on someone else’s blog really. I’m glad you like what I have posted so far though.

  24. Hi! I know this is kinda off topic however , I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest writing a blog post or vice-versa?
    My website discusses a lot of the same topics as yours
    and I believe we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you’re interested feel free to shoot me an e-mail.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Excellent
    blog by the way!

  25. Valuable information. Lucky me I discovered your site by accident and I am shocked why this accident did not happened earlier! I bookmarked it.

  26. I am glad you liked the post. I can’t promise what sort of posts I will publish in the future though. It totally depends on what happens in my life and what I feel I need to vent about. And of course, it also depends on what happens in society around me.

  27. Hi everyone, it’s my first pay a visit at this site, and piece of writing is truly fruitful designed for me, keep up posting such articles.

  28. Your website is hot!

  29. My dream retirement is living on a 45ft center cockpit Hunter sailboat with my man and dog sailing the inter coastal waterways, the Caribbean, and any port I choose.

  30. I have no idea? There should be a follow button somewhere. When I go in on my own blog, it asks if I MYSELF want to follow it?? Comes as a pop up down in the right corner. Perhaps WordPress can answer?

  31. What’s up, I want to subscribe for this blog to get most up-to-date updates,
    therefore where can i do it please help.

  32. I do realize that you are out to pick a fight, so your comment that sat in spam, does not really deserve an answer. But all the same, here is one. I do run all my posts through British spell checker. The British spelling of things is the only one accepted in Swedish schools. And rightly so. No other spelling should be allowed in the world. That said, I can also add, that I also double check word lists, google translate, because I am a perfectionist with English as my second language, and do not want any post go to publish, until I am semi content with it, at least. So as far as I’m concerned, there are no spelling errors! That also means that I have over 50 unpublished posts that I just did not have the time to edit.

    PS. Before you see the sand in my eye, check out the beam in your own. Your grammar is far from perfect! And I do not have to defend my blog or my posts. You read them of your own free will. DS.

  33. My English is not good enough for either!

  34. Thank you! Just discovered all these comments on my blog in spam. And I who thought noone read my blog posts!

  35. I’m on twitter under the name milliemumof7. Can’t stand facebook and I’m too lazy to get involved with link…

  36. I got this web page from my pal who shared with me regarding this website and now this time I am browsing this web site and reading very informative articles or reviews at this time.

  37. I’m gone to tell my little brother, that he should also pay a visit this webpage on regular basis to take updated from most recent information.

  38. I tend not to write a ton of responses, however i did some searching and wound up here BLOG_TITLE. And I actually do have a couple of questions for you if you usually do not mind. Could it be just me or does it appear like some of the responses look as if they are written by brain dead individuals? 😛 And, if you are writing at additional places, I would like to keep up with everything fresh you have to post. Would you make a list of the complete urls of all your communal pages like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

  39. Have you ever considered publishing an e-book or guest authoring on other sites? I have a blog based on the same topics you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information. I know my audience would enjoy your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an email.

  40. You’re so interesting! I do not believe I’ve truly read a single thing like that before. So great to discover someone with a few original thoughts on this topic. Seriously.. thanks for starting this up. This website is something that’s needed on the internet, someone with a bit of originality!

  41. I am regular visitor, how are you everybody? This piece of writing posted at this site is in fact nice.

  42. certainly like your web site but you have to take a look at the spelling on quite a few of your posts. A number of them are rife with spelling problems and I to find it very bothersome to tell the truth nevertheless I will definitely come back again.

  43. I always used to read post in news papers but now as I am a user of web so from now I am using net for posts, thanks to web.