Hospital visits etc.

I’ve got behind in my blogging as usual. Taking “Sparky” to the hospital takes all the energy out of me for days. Last Monday, the 6th May, it was time again for a Mag 3, which is when they put contrast fluid in him and study the flow through his kidneys. I was rather upset this time, since they usually plan for the two things, to happen the same day, Mag 3 and Ultrasound, but not this time. Which meant two trips on two separate days and parking twice… I felt so bad for him Monday since when we got there, he ran all the way from the children’s hospital part to the lifts of the main hospital. He KNEW where to go and was happy! He pushed for the lift to come and I told him which button to push. The problem was that he thought he was going for an ultrasound, so he pulled up his T-shirt, when we got in to the technicians. He became worried when they started putting the numbing cream on strategic points and holding his arms hard to see which veins might work. They put the EMLA on four spots and he was NOT happy. Nor was I,  since I had been bawled out for not having signed him in. I have gone there for the last 4 1/2 years and we have never ever had to sign him in before. But this unpleasant technician insisted that we must always do that! Fine I will in the future, now when I know, but how was I supposed to know that they have changed procedure???

kalas_alfons_abergalfons-abergs-och-hemliga-mallgan-lekerBoth of us being unhappy, he and I went to get some rolls for lunch, and he thought that it was ice creams we had come for, so he pointed at what he wanted and I felt bad for saying no, that he would get that after the whole ordeal instead. Going back up, we sat and read his new Alfons Åberg books for a while and he played with the cars I had brought, since the waiting room has a fun parking house but no cars for the children to play with. He was not entirely happy though and when different nurses came walking, he ran up to them and asked them “Can you help me?”, wanting them to take the plasters that held the  EMLA in place, off. One nurse crouched down and he immediately sat down on her lap, using her as a chair. She thought that it was fun, how trusting, loving and affectionate he is. But I knew how scared he was for what was to come. One nurse picked him up, when he stretched his arms for her to do so, so she carried him in to the room where they set the needle and they asked if we knew those two nurses and I said “No, he just wants help to get out of here!”. There is one technician that knows that he loves “Finding Nemo”. She always put rorri that on for him to watch when they set the needle but she wasn’t there, just a student, that put on Rorri race car, instead, that he for some reason is not fond of watching at all. So, he did not watch that, but sat and watched them manhandling his arm instead and screamed. Afterwards they offered him to choose something from their cupboard and he chose a car and a ring, that we put on his finger. He was a good boy and went and peed as they told him and then it was time to be on the gamma camera, but his arm hurt. He refused to stretch his arms out to his sides but had them bunched up by his chest. And he would not let them take the remaining EMLA plasters off, since the head technician had ripped off the one, which also had made him scream. I had to bend out his arms and I had to hold down his “needle” arm by his side through the whole procedure while he held the other to his chest, holding on to the car. He was not happy! Nor was I, since they did not even offer me a chair, like the one does, that knows him so well! I had to stand there for over 30 minutes. When we waited for the still picture to be taken, the student wanted to take off the EMLA plasters and he just said “NO!” and waved her hands away. HE wanted to take them off himself, in a very slow and painful looking way, but I agree with him, better inflicting the pain on yourself than others doing so! He got two off, and I helped him with the third, that would not come off, trying to push his skin down and pulling slowly, like I want it to be done myself. He screamed when they took the needle out. I wish the person that knows him so well, had been there instead. She cares about children and have good bedside manners! We were both happy when it was all over and they gave him an ice cream as a reward.

I have already blogged about, Tuesday’s misadventure with the police. We now have an appointment with a local garage, Wednesday, and I don’t know what I fear most: The fee for fixing the exhaust system OR that they might refuse to do anything about is, just like at Toyota. Wednesday, it was time to drive “Kitty” to the train statio,n since his class was going to a farm, for the day. Typical that his teacher had asked us all to drop the children right across from the police station! Let’s say, I said a prayer that all police men would be inside the station, so they could not HEAR my car and run out with pen and ticket pad!!! After dropping everyone off at different locations in Lund, I drove my youngest son to Skrylle forest, where he was going on a hike with the pre-school. All week we had had summer weather and sunshine, but this day, it was cold and rainy. How very typical. I worried about him till 13:15 when it was time for me to fetch him there, early, in order to get to my other two boys on time. It was funny actually. I really needed to go to the lavatory and when I was finally going to get in to one, I saw one of the teachers coming walking hand in hand with someone I knew! He looked so adorable in “Boo’s” orange sun hat, sky blue furry fleece jacket and his orange “Tigger” rucksack. He begged to go on the slides and I dreaded it. My other six children have always been fetched at this yearly excursion the pre-school does, at 15:00, at the Skrylle playground, and they have screamed and refused to leave. I told him, that mummy needed the loo and that we were having ice cream first. The teacher gave me the money for the ice cream and then she left to get back to the others, out in the forest, them not going back till 14:30, to eat ice cream at the play ground. I let “Sparky” choose which ever ice cream he wanted and he chose a big cone. He is so cute when he eats! I sat and admired my son and relaxed in the sun shine that had suddenly arrived. It took him 20 minutes to eat the cone and then I REALLY needed the loo. But I had promised him to go on the slide, so we walked over there after my little visit, me taking a risk, since we had to be in Lund at 14:00 and what if he refused to come with me? I stood in front of the slide and told him that he could go once on the big one, and once on the second little one, and THEN we must leave and go fetch “Boo” and “Kitty”. He first went down the big one, and then the little one, and then came the moment of truth: He took my hand and we walked to the car! This little boy is amazing! He is a true darling!!! I love all the little things he does, and sometimes I hate myself for getting so disappointed five years ago, when they looked on the ultra sound and told me, that he was a little boy, when we had all expected a little girl. This boy is SO precious! So special!

Friday, we were off again to the Ultrasound appointment, while all his siblings had the day off, it being a “squeeze day”. Thursday was red in the almanac, being Ascension Day, so basically everyone in Sweden had Friday off as well. I could tell he was apprehensive this time. He did not want to skip ahead, but sat down in his pram all the way up to the X-ray floor, at the hospital. I think he relaxed when he saw the waiting room though, and saw that it was not the same one, where they hurt him with needles! For once, the appointment went swiftly. We arrived early and they got us in 10 minutes early. The ultra sound itself did not take very long and I had prepared well with a chocolate bribe, which he emillönnebergablåbärssoppaknows is part of the drill, so he enjoyed himself! And they were showing him “Emil in Lönneberga” on their TV screen up in the ceiling. One of my favourite episodes, when Emil goes to the fair in Vimmerby. He tries out stiltches and falls through a window, which makes this woman faint, since everyone expected the comet to arrive that day. To wake the poor fainted woman, Emil empties a bowl of blueberry soup over her face, which is the scene in the picture. While his father repairs the window, he tells Emil to disappear and I love what he says to him “Try no to knock down all of Vimmerby. But I guess you can’t go through the desert in Sahara without bumping in to things!”. I love Emil’s dad! He is so funny! Well, the actor was. His facial expressions were priceless, his body language. He was perfect for playing Emil’s dad but was also used for many other of the dramatizations of Astrid Lindgren’s books! I guess he did his most famous international part, when he played Alexander’s father in Ingemar Bergman’s Oscar-winning film “Fanny & Alexander”. He died soon after that! Sad! Because he wasn’t old and he was a most talented actor but also singer.

Friday afternoon, was spent in the shoe shop in Hurva. “Boo’s” shoes have been a disgrace for a while and “Cookie’s” shoes haven’t looked that great either. So, I brought them and “Sparky” up there and we came home with sandals for the boys and canvas shoes for “Cookie”. One pair of sneakers that are high tops and then a pair of funny orange canvas shoes with flowers on them. They were on sale and what one would call “dirt cheap”. For “Dollie” I bought a pair of Converse-looking canvas shoes with the Union Jack all over them. I would have loved a pair but they were sold out of all small sizes. Lucky that she has such big feet, because size 40 still remained. But it was risky to buy without her having tried them on. She spent the entire holiday on a camping trip with Church, so she had to try them when she arrived home. I thought she would hate the shoes since she is drawn to the American flag and her younger sister is the Anglophile. I expected her to be jealous since the canvas shoes I bought for “Cookie”, were covered with the US flag, a funny version, with narrow stripes on the shoe part, and the blue part with the stars, was the tongue of the shoe. There were no “British” shoes for “Cookie” that would have loved that. But believe it or not, both girls were pleased with the shoes they received. So now my daughters walk around with flag shoes!

Comments Off on Hospital visits etc.

Filed under What's Up

Comments are closed.