car death sentence

toyotahiace3Friday was a traumatic day for me. T. declared he was working from home and taking the car to have new brake pads installed. Of all days, he chooses the worse day! He could have picked a day when the children have a study day or general holiday but he chooses a school day and a day when “Sparky” is going on an excursion. In other words, not a day I want him to miss. I asked how T. was going to fetch “Sparky” from pre-school and the boys from school. He did not know??? Great planning buck wheat!

He took off, dropped “Sparky” off and then went on to Toyota. At noon, I phoned and asked where he was since he needed to get on a bicycle and bike over to fetch “Sparky” at pre-school. He was at Toyota, having stayed there to work and I guess the plan was to just dump things on me. Force me to get on my bicycle that has no air in the tires. Not his problem. And then for me to take the bus in to town and fetch the boys… How very considerate! This is when I got the really bad news! “I’ll tell you later…”.

When he came home, he did so in our car without having got the new brake pads installed. At Christmas we found out that our car needed repairs for 2267 Pounds/ 2690 Euros/ 3519 Dollars. Now it had gone up to 2760 Pounds/ 3275 Euros /4284 Dollars. This to pass the inspection. But it passed the inspection without remarks!  Toyota can not understand that and insists that the repairs are still needed. BUT that is not the only thing. They say they can not put on new brake pads, if they do not do other thingsto the break system, which instead of the said 168 Pounds/ 199 Euros/ 260 Dollars, will cost 1972 Pounds/ 2339 Euros/ 3060 Dollars PLUS the 168/199 /260. And they refuse to do it! Our car needs repairs for 4900 Pounds/ 5813 Euros/ 7 604 Dollars and Toyota told T. to just buy a new car. They showed him a car that seats 7 people and has no room for luggage. It cost 9858 Pounds/ 11696 Euros/ 15 300 Dollars and it would mean that one person always have to stay home when we are going somewhere as a family since 8 people need to have seats! Even worse, T. started to look at a car like ours on the net, a Toyota Hiace and it cost 11 830 Pounds/ 14 036 Euros/18 360 Dollars. To buy it, we would be in debt for five years, paying 197 Pounds/ 234 Euros/ 306 Dollars every month for five years. He was all excited since it had air-conditioning, diesel and automatic stick shift, which he felt was great for going to Italy. ITALY!? How could we go there ever again when we would have a bill for that much every month? He really doesn’t think straight!

So, he came home with the car un-repaired and I have to go on driving it till it doesn’t pass inspection. The fan belt squeals. The muffler sputters, so that Daniel tells “Sparky” that “we are off in our racing car!”. And the warning light for the brakes are constantly on. I can’t say that I am a happy driver…

2 Comments

Filed under What's Up

2 responses to “car death sentence

  1. Thanks! I am glad you appreciated it!

  2. I have been browsing on-line more than 3 hours lately, yet I never found any attention-grabbing article like yours.

    It is beautiful value sufficient for me. In my opinion,
    if all webmasters and bloggers made excellent content material as you probably did, the internet shall be much more helpful than
    ever before.