Because I love you to the moon and back, “Sparky”

More updating from last week when my bleeding was too bad, for comfort… Friday, at 9:00, I had a meeting with “Sparky’s” surgeon. Let’s call her CCK, since those are her initials, having a double surname. Everyone, but Daniel, had a day off school Friday, since all teachers were on courses. Fitted my schedule just fine or perfect I should say. T. even had taken some hours off from work to come along, but I don’t know for what reasons since he contributed nothing and didn’t bother opening his mouth. At least he did not sit and sleep like he usually does at important meetings!

It was time to discuss, “Sparky’s” kidney’s future and his future with it, of course. Weeks ago, CCK phoned, after a year of waiting, to say that she doesn’t know what to do with his kidney. Her first plan was to do a Mag 3, which of course readers of this blog knows, is contrast fluid in your veins and being filmed on a gamma camera. Takes all day. Depending on what the Mag 3 was to say, the next step was putting a tube in his back, in to his kidney, and after a week of draining, x-ray it. Depending on what that said, she might try a second time to fix things, surgically. We went for the Mag 3. And it was terrible. The surgical department put EMLA anaesthesia cream on four spots, but ten minutes later, it had basically come out on the sides of the thin film they put over the cream spots. I tried to keep his mind elsewhere but he hated the wet clothes. And then came the setting of the needle. He whined which he never does otherwise! So he was not numb at all but could feel it! And then he looks at the one nurse holding his arm still and said “I am a baby!”. He looked at me and had BIG crocodile tears on his cheeks. The two nurses said “no, you’re not a baby, you’re a brave little boy!” but I KNEW what he meant. He was regressing. He was a baby because you can’t or should not hurt a baby and they were hurting him. For the rest of the day, I had to let him keep his soother, because he refused to let it go and I wanted him to cooperate on the camera, keeping the needle in and so forth.

“I am a baby!”. Those words have echoed with me and the tears on his cheeks. His pre-school teacher has told me that he has been like a changed little boy since Christmas. He can sit down and listen, not run around, and he concentrates on things, he talks more and more. What would weeks at the hospital do? He would learn distrust! That people hurt him. That I let them hurt him. He would no doubt go backwards in his development. I have felt worried. Then CCK phoned three weeks ago and said that we need to meet and talk through what to do. She wanted to lay all cards on the table, she said, and it was up to us as parents to make the decision of surgery or not.

So, we sat down with her Friday, finally. He has 13% function in his right kidney. It’s a very big kidney filled with urine, stretched out to max. Urine goes through slower than before. She explained her previous surgery. That she has never forgot him of all surgeries, because it’s been her most difficult one. His kidney having the extra blood vessel so that she could not do what one always does. And the ureter being so narrow that she could not put in a tube through it, like they always do, to help the urine’s transport to the bladder. Then of course there was the overdosing of paracetamol by the staff and the infection, that we don’t know what they did to the kidney. Her question now was: “Do I start messing with an otherwise healthy little boy? For what purpose? There is no  guarantee that I can fix anything!” She might just mess things up instead and put him in danger.

At this point I explained to her what my fears are. Him coming home with an uncomfortable tube in his back running down to a heavy bag, that quickly fills up with urine. He having to walk around with the tube and the bag in a little cross over body bag, but it being in the way when he plays, sleeps, climbs and HE WILL TRY TO RIP IT OUT! I know my son. I told her, that had he been a little calm girl like “Cookie”, then I could have explained to him, “This is dangerous. You must not touch this, you must leave it in. I you rip it out, you are in extreme danger!”. But he is not. I explained how the psychologist and speech therapist does not know how deep his language goes. The word dangerous means nothing, in theory, to him. You can’t explain deep things to him. And even if I try my best, I can not keep an eye on him 24 hours a day… I will sleep badly as it is, worrying, but no-one can stay awake for 24 hours, day after day, for weeks, and also take care of 5 other children. I explained “Kitty’s” ADHD, how “Boo” has problems at school and that the teacher asks me to stand and talk to her for 30 minutes, 30 minutes when “Sparky” could pull a tube out of his back. He could pull it out while I drive for that matter. I told her about my loo visits at 4:00 in the morning, hearing him talking in bed, and that he could rip it out then! She understood what I was talking about and was concerned. She said that IF he rips the tube out, the danger of infection is enormous and that an infection can spread to the healthy kidney and then he looses them both! And that IF she sees that she can do surgery, then he would have to keep the tube till surgery date which can mean a LONG time since nothing happens quickly in this country. She was also wondering if he would really stay still in a hospital bed and I told her, not very likely.

Finally she said that she doesn’t feel right about messing with him. She always opts for surgery because she is a surgeon and loves to cut and fix things, but she said in our case we really have to look at the entire picture and she can’t guarantee any progress or success at all, so it feels wrong to mess with him at this point. She felt good about her decision, she said, that it felt right, and that we now have to keep close eye on what happens to the sick kidney. It might stay at 13%, it might go down further, but we have to take everything as it comes. To tell the truth, this is what the Holy Ghost has been telling me ever since he said those words, “I am a baby”, and since she said “IS IT RIGHT TO MESS WITH AN OTHERWISE HEALTHY BOY?”.  It felt odd, that someone actually listened to me, but I told her that I did not want my son to be a test rabbit, that I wanted better guarantees, if he was going to go through this major thing and perhaps regress both in speech and development, thanks to the trauma. So, as for now, no surgery. I know in my heart that his kidney probably will die and will have to be removed, but I hope that this will be far in to the future.

guesshowmuchiloveyouI felt happy when I walked out. I went and drooled over Thomas Sabo rings, that I would have loved to have received on Valentine’s Day, and then I went and bought the cutest bunny for “Sparky”. Because I love him to the moon and back! They have the TV version of the books on TV now. Really cute! “Sparky” doesn’t watch it, except for the beginning when they sing the theme song. I caught him singing it weeks ago, and now I have to sneek on him, to hear it. He doesn’t want me to listen! But you hear a little angel singing in front of the TV “guess how much, guess how much, guess how much I love you?”. When he is done, and the program starts, he turns to me and I give him the biggest kiss and tell him how beautiful he sang. He knows I am listening in other words, but he doesn’t want to see me when he sings. When finished though, he wants the kiss and the praise! Our routine then is to turn off the TV and leave for pre-school. This Friday I took a tough decision, because I love him so much, and gave him the extra cute bunny to tell him so. It is super soft and with long fluffy ears. I think he made the connection?

23 Comments

Filed under What's Up

23 responses to “Because I love you to the moon and back, “Sparky”

  1. My only advice would be dive in to it and do things by trial and error. It’s the only way to learn. As for using WordPress or a paid site, I would use what is free out there till I feel comfortable with everything. IF you pay for something and you are new to it all, then you run the risk of paying for things that you don’t use. How many of us are using our telephones, cameras and other such things to their full potential? It usually takes a lot of experimenting before one has learned just the basic things. I would have loved a more intricate blog page but has noone in my vicinity that understands more about it all than myself. So, my blog page is very basic, does not have the search engines it ought to have, nor does it have tabs for different topics, some people even ask me how to follow my blog which I thought WordPress at least would have included with their themes. A button to push that is.
    The worse thing is to just sit and think about starting a blog. Just start and the rest will work itself out. One more advice is, to write for yourself, for friends to read. Not many of us are going to get thousands of followers nor be able to live off our blog, like some bloggers seem to do. That is my motto. I write because I want to vent. I don’t care if not a single soul reads what I have just written. That gives me the freedom that I need, to create. I write in my time, when I want to and when I have the time. No pressure.
    Good luck!

  2. Very good blog! Do you have any helpful hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress
    or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m completely overwhelmed ..
    Any tips? Thank you!

  3. First of all, thank you for finding my blog interesting. As you might have noticed, my blog addresses a lot of things. I usually write about what is on my mind at the moment. Its a way for me to vent and not carry things inside. I don’t know that my posts would fit on any other site, especially since people keep on pointing out that my English is poor and that I am not writing the way I am supposed to, in order to get the audience one ought to have for a blog. I am afraid that I am too much of a perfectionist, to appear on someone else’s blog. It would stress me out too much, knowing that what I post would not be perfect. And for someone to guest blog on my site, well then it would not be the views, feelings and thoughts of a stay-at-home-mum-of-7, would it. I do appreciate your interest and invitation, but my ego or self-esteem is not big enough. Thank you for believing in me though! 🙂

  4. Thank you! I’m glad to be of some help!

  5. You have made some really good points there. I checked on the web for more info about the issue and found
    most people will go along with your views on this web site.

  6. Hey there! I know this is kinda off topic nevertheless I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest writing a blog
    post or vice-versa? My blog addresses a lot of the same subjects as yours and I feel we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you are interested feel free to send me an e-mail.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Terrific blog by the way!

  7. Informative article, exactly what I was looking for.

  8. Unquestionably believe that which you said. Your favorite justification appeared to be
    on the web the easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you,
    I definitely get irked while people consider worries that they plainly don’t know about.

    You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined
    out the whole thing without having side-effects , people
    can take a signal. Will probably be back to get more.
    Thanks

  9. Hello! When I registered at WordPress, I just chose a theme that symbolizes what I love. I can not get enough of books. Love them! I guess in my mind I also thought that I would mostly discuss books I had read, but it’s become so much more. This is one of WordPress’ standard themes, free of charge. I think it is called Pilcrow or something like that. I wish I could create something more fancy for my site, like different tabs for different subjects but I am not THAT talented with computers. Good Luck!

  10. Thank you very much. I am glad that I can be of help to someone.

  11. Nice to know my posts are appreciated! Thank you!

  12. Thank you! Glad I can be of help out there.

  13. whoah this blog is magnificent i like studying your posts.
    Stay up the great work! You already know, many individuals are hunting round for this info, you could help them greatly.

  14. Hi there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and
    found that it’s really informative. I’m gonna watch out for brussels.
    I will appreciate if you continue this in future. A lot of people will be benefited from your writing.

    Cheers!

  15. May I just say what a comfort to find someone who genuinely understands what they’re discussing on the web.
    You certainly understand how to bring an issue to light and make it important.
    More and more people need to read this and understand this side of the story.
    It’s surprising you’re not more popular because you surely
    have the gift.

  16. No matter if some one searches for his essential thing, so he/she needs to be available that in detail, therefore
    that thing is maintained over here.

  17. Awesome blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from
    somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make my blog shine.
    Please let me know where you got your design. Bless you

  18. Well, not easy to make plans for him or be happy, when we went straight from that to the speech therapist and she sent him off to the psychology department, because she thinks he is autistic. If you have followed my blog, you will see that we are now 5 months in to the testing. They still do not have any clue about anything. I try to update all the news about my family. Our 2013 was a ghastly year with one thing after the next. Wish I could be happy for longer moments than 20 seconds but I guess that is not God’s plan for me.

  19. It is the best time to make some plans for the future and it is time
    to be happy. I have read this post and if I could I want to
    suggest you some interesting things or suggestions.
    Maybe you could write next articles referring to this article.
    I desire to read even more things about it!

  20. It’s amazing to visit this website and reading the
    views of all colleagues concerning this piece of
    writing, while I am also keen of getting know-how.